General Environmental Studies

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

General Environmental Studies

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

AGRIS

Find citations for information on agricultural science and technology.

CiteSeerX

This search engine covers articles from many different topics, with a focus on scientific literature.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility GBIF

"...an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth."

GlobalChange.gov

U.S. Global Change Research Program: USGCRP conducts state-of-the-art research to understand the interactive processes that influence the total Earth system—which includes the atmosphere, oceans, land, ice, ecosystems, and people.

GreenFile

This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records.

JSTOR Sustainability

Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

Search JSTOR for journal articles and book chapters on a sustainability topic.

Non-UWest users may go directly to: https://www.jstor.org/sustainability/

Live Environmental Monitoring

GRID-Geneva develops and maintains several live graphs linked to environmental issues. These graphs can be downloaded as images, pdf or vector files, and their data accessed as .csv or .xls files.

Pangaea

Find datasets on earth & environmental sciences.

Semantic Scholar

This search engine can help you "home in on key publications, citation, and results..." on your topic. Once you hone in an article, there are automatic recommendations to other related citations, sorted by influence.

WorldWideScience

This database provides a variety of science and technology information in ten different languages. The database translates search keywords into multiple languages, and search through various data available worldwide, and then answers come back with the language of the search keywords. Full text articles available under the 'Public Access' tab after search.

Zenodo

An open access repository for research data, including journal articles, datasets, and software. Currently contains mostly scientific research data, but open to all subjects. Affiliated with CERN and OpenAIRE.

bioRxiv

Preprint server for biology, contains articles that are unpublished but uploaded to this database to make their findings immediately available and receive feedback before submission to journals.